Reasons to Write

Two years and three majors into my college career, I finally found a major I could stick with.  The epiphany came in a mandatory creative writing class that I had planned to sail through.  Sail I did, but not in the way I expected.  ” Write 250 words about a man’s son who has died in a war.  You can’t use the word son and you can’t use the word war,” said the young professor, whose name I have regrettably forgotten.  I had found my passion and my future. 

Three more years of essays, stories, countless hours reading, and I had earned a Bachelor of Arts in English-Creative Writing.  What to do next?  I spent six months as an editorial assistant, four months writing and editing biographies for a cooking school catalog, and the last 14 years working in restaurants.  Two years of the restaurant career were in training design, corporate writing and editing.  This time was a critical break in my management career – and an important reminder of my passion.  I experienced the synergy of collaborative writing, the discipline of research and the detail of editing. 

In the beginning, it just paid better than writing, but eventually it became a financially stable career in restaurant management.  With my 20th high school reunion rapidly approaching, I have been thinking about two things:  losing 30 pounds, and what have I been doing since high school?  When I tell people I was an English major, they inevitably ask one of two things, “What are you reading?” or “What have you written lately?”  It’s time to answer those questions for myself.

About this entry